About Us

Transit Oriented Development for Indian Smart Cities is a research project undertaken by the National Institute of Urban Affairs (NIUA), New Delhi. It was conducted with the support of Prosperity Programme, Foreign & Commonwealth Office, Government of UK over a period of nine months. As a part of this project, NIUA has published:

  • Transit Oriented Development for Indian Smart Cities — Global Review of Transportation-Land-Use Integration
  • A Smart(er) TOD — Learnings from MoUD’s TOD Guidance Document and Smart City Plans
  • Game Changers in Transit Oriented Development
  • Assessing TOD — A List of Indicators

During this period the research team at NIUA interacted with over 20 Indian Smart Cities through national and international workshops and an immersion visit to UK.

About NIUA

National Institute of Urban Affairs (NIUA) is a premier institute for research, capacity building and dissemination of knowledge for the urban sector in India. It conducts research on urbanization, urban policy and planning, municipal finance and governance, land economics, transit oriented development, urban livelihoods, environment & climate change and smart cities.

The institute was set up to bridge the gap between research and practice, and to provide critical and objective analyses of trends and prospects for urban development. NIUA has assisted in policy formulation and programme appraisal and monitoring for the Ministry of Urban Development, state governments, multilateral agencies and other private organizations. It contributed to the National Commission on Urbanisation, participated in drafting the 74th Constitutional Amendment of 1992, prepared the Draft National Urban Policy and other documents for the roll out of the Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission (JNNURM). It also guided the discourse on municipal finance by framing the Model Municipal Law.

The Team

Overall Guidance

  • Prof. Jagan Shah


  • Siddharth Pandit
  • Anand Iyer
  • Sabina Suri
  • Rewa Marathe
  • Suzana Jacob
  • Neha Awasthi
  • Raman Kumar Singh
  • Divya Jindal


  • Arun Rewal
  • Banashree Banerjee
  • Dr. Divya Sharma
  • Mriganka Saxena
  • Akshima Ghate

Technical Partners

  • D. T. V. Raghu Rama Swamy
  • Ashish Gupta
  • Dr. Anil Sawhney
  • Sunil Agarwal

Web Design and Development

  • Pranay Bharadwaj
  • Abhijeet Mishra
  • Deepak Sharma
  • Ankur Kumar

Graphic Design

  • Deep Pahwa
  • Kavita Rawat