Our Work

NIUA works on a wide array of projects. It touches upon various aspects of urban development through these projects that support and augment the Institute’s vision of transforming the urban landscape of India. These research projects include topics such as spatial growth, demographic trends, development of toolkits and frameworks, municipal finance, climate change, water, sanitation, hygiene, preparing city master plans, conservation plans. NIUA also conducts customized training programmes to support and assist Government of India’s flagship campaigns and policies. The Institute works closely with various ministries including Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs, Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, Jal Shakti Mantralaya, city-level urban local bodies, multilateral agencies such as Asian Development Bank, World Bank, bilateral agencies such as EU, United States Agency for International Development, Department for International Development, Agence Française de Développement, Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation, etc., philanthropic organizations such as Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, Bernard van Leer Foundation, Shakti Foundation, and other national and international academic institutions (Click here for Partner’s List).

The multiple projects of NIUA are clubbed under five Theme Areas or Knowledge Domains, and the interventions are classified into five types of instruments.

our work

NIUA Centres

THEMES

Urban Infrastructure and Built Environment

NIUA provides the knowledge and expertise towards overall strategic and sustainable planning and management of urban areas as well as sectoral focus on areas like heritage management, Transit-oriented Development, and inclusive urban planning and design responding to needs of all age groups, genders, abilities, and economic backgrounds. NIUA recognizes that well-managed built environments are a powerful tool to deliver high quality of life to all urban residents by leveraging the historical, ecological and cultural layers that make our cities so interesting.

Social Development

Social inclusion is crucial towards enabling the creation of a dynamic and adaptable framework for city planning and governance, as it promotes local democracy, participation and inclusion, transparency and accountability, ensuring sustainable urbanisation. In order to influence social development in urban India, NIUA has been working towards promoting and building knowledge through its various initiatives for inclusive cities.

 

INSTRUMENTS

Policy and Planning

NIUA is working towards ensuring that urban planning and design practice adequately responds to the inherent demographic and economic forces that underpin India’s urbanization. We work towards capturing universal principles from global practices, national and local experiences that support the development of diverse planning approaches adapted to scale. We accomplish this by helping public and private sectors: build capacity for informed, creative decisions; shape public policy; and implement the best community practices.

Technology, Data Solutions & Innovations

NIUA is at the forefront of innovation within the urban realm and aims at fostering initiatives and gathering knowledge about cities of tomorrow. The Institute is committed towards creating an ecosystem that can provide ample advice and information to urban stakeholders to become more innovative at delivering intelligent, inclusive and sustainable urban development at scale, especially in challenging contexts.

PROJECTS

On-Going Projects


Urban Resilience Unit

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Umamaheshwaran Rajasekar  |   Email: urajasekar@niua.org

Master Plan for Delhi 2041 as an Enabling Strategic Plan

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Nilesh Prakash Rajadhyaksha  |   Email: nrajadhyaksha@niua.org

Sanitation Capacity Building Platform(SCBP)

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Jyoti Dash  |   Email: jdash@niua.org

Addressing the Urban Drivers of River Health in the Ganga River Basin

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Victor Rana Shinde  |   Email: vshinde@niua.org

Centre for Municipal Finance

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Sandeep Thakur  |   Email: sthakur@niua.org

Capacity Building for Smart Data and Inclusive Cities (SDIC)

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Debjani Ghosh  |   Email: dghosh@niua.org

Building Accessible, Safe, and Inclusive Indian Cities (BASIIC)

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Utsav Choudhury  |   Email: uchoudhury@niua.org

Operationalising National Urban Innovation Hub (NUIH)

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: A. N. Nanda Kishore  |   Email: akishore@niua.org

Smartnet

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: A. N. Nanda Kishore  |   Email: akishore@niua.org

Knowledge Partner of CapaCITIES (Capacity Building for Low Carbon and Climate Resilient Development in Cities)

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Umamaheshwaran Rajasekar  |   Email: urajasekar@niua.org

Climate Smart Cities

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Umamaheshwaran Rajasekar  |   Email: urajasekar@niua.org

IMPLEMENTATION OF TRANSIT ORIENTED DEVELOPMENT IN INDIAN CITIES

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Mukut Sharma  |   Email: msharma@niua.org

Third Party Audit (TPA) of Online Building Plan Approval System (OBPAS) of Delhi and Mumbai for Ease of Doing Business (EoDB)

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Anand Sundararaman Iyer  |   Email: aiyer@niua.org

Policy Support Facility (PSF) to the Smart & Sustainable Urbanisation Partnership (SSUP) between the India and the European Union (EU)

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Anand Sundararaman Iyer  |   Email: aiyer@niua.org

Conservation Plan for Ahmedabad World Heritage City

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Riyaz Tayyibji  |   Email: rtayyibji@niua.org

Review of urban social policy framework for Mumbai, Kolkata and Bhopal

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Anuradha Yagya  |   Email: ayagya@niua.org

Sustainable, Healthy and Learning Cities and Neighbourhood

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Debolina Kundu  |   Email: dkundu@niua.org

Scale and Nature of Deprivation among Children and Adolescents in Urban India: An Empirical Analysis

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Debolina Kundu  |   Email: dkundu@niua.org

Morgenstadt Global Smart Cities Initiative: Global Approach – Local Solutions

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Debjani Ghosh  |   Email: dghosh@niua.org

Integrated Capacity Building Programme

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Debjani Ghosh  |   Email: dghosh@niua.org

Spatial Structures and Trends: Europe and India

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Debolina Kundu  |   Email: dkundu@niua.org

India Smart Cities Fellowship Programme 2020

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Nabamalika Joardar  |   Email: njoardar@niua.org

Journal: Environment and Urbanisation Asia

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Debolina Kundu  |   Email: dkundu@niua.org

Journal: Urban India

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Debolina Kundu  |   Email: dkundu@niua.org

National Urban Innovation Stack (NUIS)

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: A. N. Nanda Kishore  |   Email: akishore@niua.org

DataSmart Urban 95

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: A. N. Nanda Kishore  |   Email: akishore@niua.org

Implementation of Online Building Permission System (OBPS) in North Eastern States

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: A. N. Nanda Kishore  |   Email: akishore@niua.org

Climate Centre for Cities

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Umamaheshwaran Rajasekar  |   Email: urajasekar@niua.org

Sustainable Cities Integrated Approach Pilot in India

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Paramita Dey  |   Email: pdey@niua.org

City Investments To Innovate, Integrate & Sustain (CITIIS)

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Keruwala Naim Aiyubbhai  |   Email: nkeruwala@niua.org

Safaimitra Suraksha Challenge SMS Challenge (Capacity Building)

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person:   |   Email: 

CDG - Centre for Digital Governance

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Kakul Misra  |   Email: kmisra@niua.org

CCSG - Citizen Centric Smart Governance

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Anirudh Gupta  |   Email: anirudhgupta@niua.org

NULP - National Urban Learning Platform

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Sreenandini Banerjee  |   Email: sbanerjee@niua.org

Infant, Toddler and Caregiver-Friendly Neighbourhoods (ITCN) Training & Capacity Building Programme

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Krishna Kant Pandey  |   Email: kkpandey@niua.org

Urban Resilience and Adaptation for India and Mongolia: curricula, capacity, ICT and stakeholder collaboration to support green & blue infrastructure and nature-based solutions (URGENT)

Status: In-Progress  |   Contact Person: Debjani Ghosh  |   Email: dghosh@niua.org

Completed Projects


Innovation Hub for Urban Water, Sanitation and Hygiene Solutions (IHUWASH)

Status: Completed  |   Contact Person: Kamna Swami  |   Email: kswami@niua.org

India Smart Cities Fellowship Programme 2019

Status: Completed  |   Contact Person: Nabamalika Joardar  |   Email: njoardar@niua.org

Child Friendly Smart Cities

Status: Completed  |   Contact Person: Kanak Tiwari  |   Email: ktiwari@niua.org

Swachh Bharat Mission Exposure Workshops (2016-2020)

Status: Completed  |   Contact Person: Paramita Dey  |   Email: pdey@niua.org

NIUA-CIDCO Smart City Lab

Status: Completed  |   Contact Person: Hitesh Vaidya  |   Email: hvaidya@niua.org